Just Life · Reviews: Newcastle

Chaophraya Newcastle

I love Thai food, I’m planning to travel to Thailand in summer 2018. When a new Thai restaurant opened in eldon Square I was super excited. I went a while ago and loved it so, so much but I’ve never really done a review on my blog. After booking it again for a date night I thought it was the perfect time to write about last time. If the though of Thai food makes you resemble the heart eyes emoji, check it out: http://chaophraya.co.uk/

I cannot talk highly enough about this place, it was insanely good. Once we ordered, we got some crisp breads (I don’t know what these are called, they are the equivalent of prawn crackers in Chinese, but they were bloody good). The sauce was sweet chili.

chaop2

So, my starter was pork dumplings. I didn’t know what to expect from this because I’m not the biggest fan of pork but pretty much anything in dumpling form I can get on board with. When the food came I didn’t think anything could top the presentation but then I took my first bite and omg… I was wrong. They were delicious.

chaop3

It was the kind of meal you didn’t want to end. But I still had my main course to come so all is good. My main course was chicken in plum sauce. I didn’t know what to expect from the sauce – sometimes fruit sauces are runny and sometimes they are syrupy. I was hoping for a syrup and that’s what I got. It was just a dream. We has to order our rice seperately which added price but I got sticky rice and it was absolutely lovely.

chaop4

Overall, it was amazing! I ordered two meat dishes – although there was a whole section for vegetarians. If you have a peanut allergy (as my boyfriend does), a few of the dishes do use saté but there is plenty of choice of dishes that don’t.

Service: 9/10  //  Food: 10/10  //  Price: 7/10 (£££)

Again, if anyone does want to check out this place: http://chaophraya.co.uk/

NB: I know the photos aren’t great quality, I took them on my phone and have a five year old laptop. I can’t yet afford a good camera…

If you’ve been here before, feel free to leave your opinion in the comments! Or any other restaurant recommendations in Newcastle are hugely appriciated

Stay classy,

 

2 thoughts on “Chaophraya Newcastle

Leave a Reply

