Fashion · Just Life

African Dream

Hey everyone! if you follow my blog you may have noticed that I’ve been away for a little while. If you follow my Facebook page you’ll know that I’ve been doing charity work in Ethiopia for three weeks and as you can imagine there was a lot of prep that needed done before hand.

ethiopian-flag-3

Now I’m back after a truly amazing experience, meeting some truly amazing people and I’m full of inspiration for the future. I know reading super long posts can be really boring so I’ll share my experience in a separate post and do lil one-off posts of outfits/patterns etc that I find interesting so you can pick and choose what you would like to read. Please let me know in the comments if there is anything in particular from my time in Ethiopia you would like to hear about.

The work I did was meeting charity partners and speaking to local communities involved in programmes that help prevent and treat HIV/AIDs and how the people living with the virus have better lives since the charity intervention. There were also livelihood projects which help mostly women who have been victims of Gender Based Violence (which is a huge problem over there) and set them up with income generating activities such as weaving, pottery, sheep fattening or growing vegetables. This enables them to have a market stall and make a living to support them and their family.

So this post is basically a, “hi, I’m back! I’ve missed you and I hope you’re looking forward to reading some of my work”

Stay classy,

Leave a Reply

