Just Life

Pill for Homesickness

pills

Hi everyone!

I’m so sorry it’s been so long since my last post but as you may be able to tell from the title, I’ve just moved! I say ‘just’, it’s been three weeks now but it’s been soooo manic!! That’s why I haven’t been posting as much but I’ve been missing it so rest assured I haven’t gone for good.

I know that three weeks ins’t a terribly long time but I haven’t really made any friends here because there isn’t anyone my age. I have a roommate but he’s older and also not a girl. I moved to start a gap year and I’m working in the Chaplaincy Department of a high school and I love it but when I come home on a night I just sit by myself or do chores.

I decided to do something about it, so I’m starting a dance class and looking at what else is going on in the area that I can get involved in and it’s becoming even more exciting. And, of course, I have you guys. ❤

At this time of year, students are starting to settle into uni and I know a lot of Freshers are coming to a close (sniffle that I didn’t have one but gazes into future for next year) and this tends to be when homesickness hits. I think homesickness can go one of two ways: you either don’t get homesick very easily or very soon at all and love being away and finding your independence or it hits you like a train. I would say my homesickness has hit me like a 40mph car, I can see it coming and I can try and move to resist it but in all honestly it’s inevitable. But it’s more like a broken arm than total paralysis, I can cope.

I think it’s important to note that painkillers don’t help emotional pain so unless you have a broken arm, please don’t try them.

A lot of people, especially at age 18 or older think that it’s not okay to be homesick because missing home is for children on school trips but that’s totally not the case. I come from a very tight knit family and I booked trains home next weekend so that it doesn’t get worse and spiral, as I tend to do. For some people I know this isn’t an option but there’s always something you can do. I write letters home every week. You can tell your flatmates/friends and they can help. They can help take your mind off it, they can help talk to you but they won’t judge you. It’s totally natural.

In fact, they probably feel a lil homesick too.

Is it just me or does ‘homesick’ not feel like a word anymore????

Basically, what this long post is about is that you shouldn’t be ashamed. It’s natural and it’s okay to be upset but it’s not okay to dwell on it. Here are some things you could to to help:

  • Visit home
  • Find a new hobby/club/society
  • Write/Email/Phone/Skype family
  • Arrange a get together/meal/drinks with friends
  • Cook a meal and invite flatmates/friends to all eat together
  • Cry (it’s okay if crying helps) (crying does not make you weak)
  • Talk to someone
  • Make a brilliant playlist
  • Watch a funny movie

If you have any other suggestions on how to combat missing home, please feel free to write them in the comments below or if you just fancy a lil chat!

Stay classy,

 

 

Leave a Reply

